Pregnancy for VWD type 1

hi…i just want to know if there any specific medicine that I can take during my pregnancy period… I’m now 15 weeks pregnant… anybody can help me? tq in advance…

Hi Lynda,

I am an OB nurse who has vWD type 1 and would like to give you some information about vWD and pregnancy. Most women who have vWD have no problems during their pregnancy. This is because during pregnancy, clotting is actually increased due to some hormonal changes. I had no problems during my pregnancy, but I did afterwards. That is because as your uterus is healing up the placental site, you use up the factor and need to use Stimate nasal spray as instructed by your doctor. Usually only for a few days starting the day after you deliver. You may have a few heavier periods after you deliver and if your doctor likes for you to use stimate, you can without any problems. Make sure you don't take any asprin or NSAIDS during your pregnancy.

MKB

I have type 1 and for some unknown reason I my factor was still low while pregnant. They checked the levels after 20 weeks to see if they went up and they didn’t. They didn’t know why. I had c-sections with 2 pregnancies. And they just gave me the factor 8 to make sure everything was ok.

And I took stimate 5-7 days after to make sure the clot did what it was supposed to do.

hi MKB, im having a bleeding problem b’coz of my placenta… any medicine u can suggest to me?