Hello...I'm new to the group!

Hi all,

I'm new to this group, and have been a little nervous about starting my first discussion!

I'm 29 years old, from London, and I have VWD Type 2 which was diagnosed 3 years ago.

I've really struggled with the symptoms of my VWD; the nose, ear and eye bleeds are still a daily occurrence, I have had surgery to stop bleeding within my gastrointestinal tract, and although successful, the surgery itself cause more bleeding.

I have anemia and low blood pressure due to the constant blood loss, which causes regular fainting and seizures, I also suffer joint bleeds, which I've been told are not common with Type 2.

I've been unable to work or travel alone for almost 2 years now, which has been quite difficult as I'm a Corporate Lawyer and prior to my diagnosis, I have always been very independent.

I'm now beginning to come to terms with the condition and the symptoms, but am still a little sensitive about it.

I'm now able to administer Tranexamic acid myself, which has been very useful, but I still need to go in for DDAVP every 4-6 weeks.

Although it has been extremely difficult, I think the condition has actually made me stronger as a person, and it makes me hopeful to see others with similar experiences as it can be a very lonely road when living with VWD.

Thank you all for welcoming me into the group, I wish you all well and look forward to hearing from you.

Leana

Welcome Leana. :)

I agree that having VWD can be a lonely road, perhaps because no one out there seems to know much about it? My daughter was recently diagnosed with VWD and, until finding this site, she felt like she was the only person in the world with it. Now she reads through everyone else's posts and feels like finally somebody else 'gets' her.

I believe she is also a stronger person now. Hang in there and we look forward to your posts! X