Meds to avoid

I am new to the diagnosis on vWD type 1 and never realized (nor paid attention to) OTCs or prescriptions that cause bleeding issues. I just found out that, aside from NSAIDS, that some muscle rubs and even pepto bismol suspension can cause bleeding trouble. Does anyone have a list of meds to avoid other than NSAIDS (Ibuprofen, Aleve, Advil)?

Aspirin
Warfin
Be sure to always ask everybody that gives you over the counter or prescribed meds - do they cause blood thinning such as aspirin?

thanks! The book 100 questions & answers about von Willebrand Disease by Andra H. James has a list of a bunch to avoid!!

I like the way John has worded that “will this cause blood thinning”. Always best to not use terms that can confuse people, like vWD!

Drugs that can cause bleeding

People with bleeding disorders should avoid aspirin and other drugs that can cause bleeding. This list of drugs that can cause bleeding does not include drugs that have to be given as injections or intravenous infusions. The generic or “chemical” names are given since the brand names or marketing names differ between countries.

While every effort has been made to include as many drugs as possible, some may be missing. In addition, many non-prescription medications, such as cold remedies, contain aspirin. People with bleeding disorders should check with their hemophilia centre or physician, or consult the pharmaceutical company’s printed instructions before taking any new medication.

Aceclofenac

Acenocoumarol

Acetylsalicylic acid (Aspirin)

Citalopram*

Clopidogrel

Dexibrufen

Diclofenac

Dicoumarol

Escitalopram

Fluoxetine*

Fluvoxamine*

Ibuprofen

Indomethacin

Ketoprofen

Ketorolac

Lornoxicam

Meloxicam

Nabumetone

Naproxen

Paroxetine*

Phenprocoumon

Piroxicam

Sertraline*

Sulindac

Tenoxicam

Ticlopidine

Warfarin