New member and newly diagnosed

Hello,
I’m new to group and just been diagnosed with VWD but my doctor has no idea as.to what type I am. I find this confusing as I believe I should know what type I am. Therefore I feel in limbo and uninformed which leads me to think all sorts in my head. So… I’m looking for a bit of advice as to what the standard practice is? I thank you all in advance and hope I’ve explained things correctly.xx
Faye

Hi Faye! I agree with you, I think it’s really important to know what type you are. I had to have genetic testing done for my doctor to accurately type me. My dad knew he had VWD so they tested me for it when I was a baby and determined that we were type 1, however when I was older and about to have surgery, I saw a new hematologist at a really big hospital, and she had me undergo the genetic testing and determined without a doubt that I was type 2M. that means that all my relatives (on my dad’s side) who have VWD have that same type. It’s my understanding from talking with my doctors that that is the case for most types of VWD (as in, whatever type one of you has, you all have), but I’ve seen some people on here say they have a different type than one of their relatives, so I could be wrong. Anyway, I have also seen a lot of people on here say that they were diagnosed as one type and then later found out they were a different type; I think it must be really hard to nail down what type you are without that extensive genetic testing? In my case it was really important that I knew what type I was because type 1 is often treated with DDAVP, but type 2M doesn’t respond to that treatment. My dad almost died from a nosebleed before we knew we are 2M, so it’s very important to know your type, IMO! do you know of anyone else in your family who has been diagnosed? it’s very uncommon for someone to be the only person in their family with VWD! But with type 1s and milder type 2s, I can see how people would never know they had it!